First past the post

First past the post is awarded against 12 pre-selected races.  The races are of varying distances and run from 24 January 2016 to 10 October 2016 (inclusive).

Larks must complete a minimum of six pre-selected races in order to compete for the first past the post award.  Their best five races will count towards their final score.

Points are awarded based on final finish position against other competing Larks with men and women having separate scoring – first male and first female will get 1 point; 2nd gets 2 points etc.  The scoring system in each nominated race is as follows:

  1. 1st male and female 1 point
  2. 2nd male and female  2 points
  3. 3rd male and female 3 points
  4. 4th male and female 4 points (and so on)

One point will be deducted for the first Lark within each of the following age categories: Men V40, V50, V60 & Female V35, V45, V55.

On 10 October 2016, runners’ best five results will be totalled.  The male Lark and the female Lark with the lowest aggregated score take the awards.

In the event of a tie, the best time in the last Championship race (that the tied runners finished) will be used as the decider.  If still tied, the award will be shared.

The overall winners of the Larkfield Club Championships will be excluded from the first past the post award.

The awards will be presented at the annual Larkfield AC Christmas party in December.

Larkfield AC Club Championship – first past the post 2016 FULL INFO